Follow me to: Forks, Washington

Location: Forks, WA
Sites to See:
Hoh Rain Forest, Ruby Beach, Cape Flattery 
Place to Stay:
Manitou Lodge Bed & Breakfast

Short Review:  Plan for several days to enjoy everything that this area has to offer.  I did not have enough time and will be planning a trip back!DSC07779 blog post.jpg

Long Review:  First off let me tell you all that unfortunately I didn’t see any sexy men that sparkled, or crazy werewolf guys cliff jumping. The book nerd in me was so excited to see the area that the Twilight book series that I enjoyed back in the day was based on. What I didn’t expect was for me to enjoy it so much!

Let me start off with the Manitou Lodge Bed & Breakfast.  This is located in a very quiet and peaceful stretch of land a few miles outside of Forks. I landed on this particular Bed & Breakfast after googling and finding that it was the #3 rated (according to TripAdvisor) in the area and had vacancies for the night I would be in the area. Upon arriving you are taken down a very small and winding road that takes you back to the property.  When they say secluded they mean it, and I loved the peace and quiet that it offered. After going into the lodge and calling for assistance to check in. *Side note: The people running the Lodge were very helpful and so kind.  We hit traffic issues and called to say that we would be arriving late, and he said he would come check us in as soon as we were able to arrive* We ended up in the Outback.  This is a small 8′ x 12′ camping cabin on the property. It does not have a bathroom or shower in it.  You get a double bed, microwave, refrigerator, a Keurig, a space heater if needed, and a sink with running water.  While it doesn’t sound like much it was the cutest little place.  They also provide breakfast for you and leave it in the refrigerator.  The breakfast we had was waffles, toast, yogurt, cereal, milk and orange juice. To get to a restroom you just follow a very short path around the building to the Main Lodge. In the morning they provided coffee and had fresh fruit for all the guests also.

2017-07-02_11.09.51

As someone who doesn’t spend a lot of time in their room when they travel this was the perfect place for me!  I was able to go hiking and come back late in the night and not feel like I was disturbing anyone as I parked behind my little cabin and climbed in bed!

Lets go back to the hiking comment. I ended up driving from the Lodge to Neah Bay to hike the Cape Flattery Trail to be there for sunset.  The trail is very easy and well maintained.  I still ran through it to get to the different viewing decks to get that ‘golden hour’ light. It was worth the 1.5 hour twisty, windy coastal road drive to get there for sunset. DSC07714 blog image.jpgThe next morning I hiked the Hall of Mosses Trail in the Hoh Rain Forest in the Olympic National Park. There is a fee for the Park, it last for 7 days and was $25.  Hopefully you will be in the area long enough to use that pass at many locations! The Hall of Mosses Trail is a very easy 0.8 mile hike. It is beautiful and makes you feel like you are in a fairytale. I’m not going to lie, I was waiting to happen upon a small Fairy village in the fallen moss covered trunks because it was seriously like a scene out of a movie. DSC07804 blog image.jpgI hit some bad luck somewhere between the Hoh Rain Forest and Ruby Beach, I got a screw in my tire. I was only able to quickly view Ruby Beach and longingly stare at the waves as they crashed into the shore as I had to head to town to get a tire patched. Due to the time constraint on the road trip plans that I had I was unable to turn around and go back after having my tire repaired. DSC07841 blog post.jpgIn the end, I have decided that I NEED to go back to this area some time soon to experience it all again!

Sehnsucht
(n) A wistful longing and yearning in the heart for travels that have been and travels to come.

2 thoughts on “Follow me to: Forks, Washington

Leave a comment